When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is generally debatable whether deciding a person’s good or bad image at the first in-person meeting is appropriate. I vehemently espouse that it is not suitable due to flaws in the outer look and under the pressure of a particular situation. Foremost, judging people by their expressions may cause inaccuracy in deciding the character of a person in the first encounter. For instance, research conducted by the Guardian Newspaper in March 2022 stated that 7 out of 10 individuals misinterpret strangers at initial meetings because they tried to elaborate their image from their facial expressions. Consequently, sometimes humans’ outer constraints like voice or unattentive nature, do not look highly attractive, but their true behaviour can vary in later stages. Moreover, not only does expressiveness contain body language but also normal dressing sense that can easily be misjudged. Hence, outdated clothes and odd expressions can hide an ingenuous personality. Additionally, forming opinions about others when they are entangled with some specific situations may lead to faulty decisions. For example, the World Psychological Organisation, published in its annual report in April 2020 revealed that 60% of boys struggled to show their confident selves on first dates since they felt nervous at that time and ultimately girls assumed that they were not a suitable match for them. Furthermore, in some circumstances, before the first in-person visit, family members or friends can fill up thoughts regarding a person in our mind and that presumption can also guide us towards the wrong side. To conclude, it is unequivocal that though it is a very common trend to form a quick judgement about others during initial interactions, it is obviously a misleading approach concerning the misconception of outer appearance and the distinct situation of that person.