People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is often argued that in order to end environmental issues, the state should raise the fuel's cost for all transportation modes. I strongly agree with that statement because cars and other vehicles are the major contributors to air pollution and society prefer to use their own vehicles to travel rather than using public transportation due to the cost -efficiency. Most of air and water pollutions are produced from substances emitted from cars and motorcycles. Those substances can be produced in a greater amount depending on the number of transportation modes wandering on the road. For example, a recent publication by Cambridge University stipulated that there are at least 80% of the pollution in the country are resulted from the usage of transportation modes. In addition to the above, another reason why the government should consider to increase the money that needs to be spent by the citizens is the fact that they believe the cost of using private vehicles are far cheaper compared to use public transportations. Consequently, the amount of person who opts to use their private cars or motorbikes is greater than the citizen who prefers to use buses or trains in order to reduce their daily expense. For instance, a survey by the Indonesian Traffic Observer showing that there are at least 8 of 10 persons choose to travel to their office by using private transportation modes since the money they spend to buy the fuel for their vehicles are not so expensive than the price of the public transportation cost. Nevertheless, the government should also consider reducing the cost of public transportation to encourage society to use buses and trains. In conclusion, the significant amount of environmental pollution is caused by the number of cars and motorcycles and the cost of fuel are cheaper than using public transportations. Therefore, I believe it would be prudent for the government to increase the price of fuel of cars and other transportation modes.