Some people believe governments should spend money in saving languages of few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about saving endangered languages by government financial aid. While some people support the idea, my firm conviction is that there are many other areas that need the government's support more urgently. People who advocate this opinion believe that protecting minority languages can have cultural benefits since language is a way to the human culture heritage. For example, there are a small group of people who live in the Rocky mountains and their language originated from the plants in the mountain. If the language becomes extinct, we might lose some important knowledge about those plants. In other words, we lost ancient knowledge if we lost languages. On the other hand, people who oppose this view argue that the money from taxpayers can be better utilized in other areas. Different from language extinction which the impact may take a long time to appear, some issues cannot wait to be solved. For example, global warming has become more severe recently. More forest burned out this year than ever before in California. Because of the ash in the air, people have to stay at home and the business was forced to close. Both the safety of citizens and the economy are contaminated. Therefore, compared with language preservation, I believe that other emergency topics should be more worthwhile the financial support from the governments. In conclusion, we cannot ignore that preserving the imperilled language is beneficial to Inherit the wisdom of the ancients. However, it is not the top priority for governments to spend money on. After all, there are still plenty of safety or economic threats waiting for them to tackle.