The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from suburbs or the countryside to live in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In metropolitan cities, i neffective transportation system has long been criticised by citizens. Some people suggest that by centralising the population to cities, the problem can be solved. I personally disagree with the statement since further problems could be induced. There are certain reasons why citizens should not be encouraged to move to the cities from the suburbs. Probably the most significant reason is that this would lower their quality of living. It is a common phenomenon that there are comprehensive infrastructure to provide a convenient living, ranging from convenient shopping places and more food choices, in the cities. The drawbacks for having more people living in the cities could lead to overcrowding and dilution of resources, which,in turn, causing longer queuing time for transportation for example. Problems of traffic jam could not be solved but might be worsened as it poses an Insurmountable difficulty for workers and students to estimate travel time. Apart from the aforementioned drawbacks, never should we overlook the fact that the dense population in the cities could lead to health problems to citizens. Not only do they have greater stress on affording expensive property and living costs, but also noise and air pollution can affect their health condition. For example, researches showed that air pollution, in Hong Kong, is the most severe in Central when compared with the New Territories area, where there is less population. Pollutants can cause health problems such as contact dermatitis and allergic rhinitis. Also, noise pollution also contributes to impaired sleeping quality, which, in turn, affects citizens' performance on study or work and reduce their competitiveness at the end. The physical well-being and quality of life are affected. Under this line of thinking, I disagree that traffic problem can be solved by centralising citizens as it could lead to lower living quality and impair their health condition. The government should step in to review the transportation system in order to tackle the root cause of traffic jam.