One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Better health facilities are now available to the public which has led to a rise in their average life span. Although there are certain benefits and drawbacks to this view, in my opinion, the positive aspects of improved healthcare have surpassed the negative ones. Improved medical care has both sides to the picture-advantageous as well as undesirable aspects. As far as the benefits are concerned, the average age which a person expected to live has significantly risen up due to the availability of advance health care opportunities to the sick. Despite having multiple chronic diseases, people live a lot longer than average statistical life span they should have with such co-morbid. For example, patients having diabetes mellitus, hypertension and ischemic heart diseases at the same time died quite early because of lack of research in treatment guidelines for these disorders. However, a major setback to get such a level of healthcare is that it has become a financial burden for the patient. A huge sum of money is spent on treatment which sometimes, does not even prove to be of many benefits. For instance, terminally-ill cancer patients tend to spend big amounts on prescriptions despite being aware of the fact that they will die soon. Also, bills to be paid in the name of care provided by hospital authorities are often beyond the afford of the general public. Overall, improved health facilities enhance the standard of living and the benefits outbalance a few pitfalls of cos. Therefore, advanced medical technology has proven to be of great ease in improving the quality of living.