In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think it is a positive or negative development.

The modern trend of living alone has increased rapidly in recent years. In contrast to the past,a large number of people are opting to live alone than with family.I firmly believe that it is a negative development. This essay will discuss the possible reasons which support my opinion. First of all, living alone affects the work and studies of individuals.When someone lives alone,he has to take care of all chores of the house alone without anyone's help.A lot of time and energy is required in performing such tasks alone at home and it sometimes becomes tedious. Consequently,work or studies of an individual is disrupted which will not be true if he lives with his family. For instance,my cousin, who went to Canada for his tertiary education,was unable to cope with his studies,part-time job and cooking at home altogether alone,so he decided of taking his mom who could help her with cooking and washing. Moreover,when people stay alone they are likely to develop wrong habits.It is true that these people get in touch with people who are involved with all sorts of habits which destroys an individual's life.If these people live in a family there are comparatively lesser chances of them getting involved in activities such as cigarette smoking. For example,a recent report by the Crime Branch of India states that 70% of working individuals living alone in Mumbai,who consider themselves to be independent,are addicted to cigarette smoking and alcohol consumption. To conclude, although staying alone makes people self-dependent,difficulty in work or studies and acquiring bad habits make it a negative development.I solely believe that this type of trend should be demotivated.