Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impacts on environment and on people who lost their job because of it.

These days, people have been using online platforms to shop and purchase things instead of going to physical shops. The impacts of online shopping on both the environment and individuals will be outlined in the following paragraphs before reaching a conclusion. To begin with, the uprising trend of online shopping can have some effects on the environment. Firstly, a vast amount of resources are being used in order to respond to the order of buying online such as wood furniture, crafting ornaments, etc. It will lead to cutting more surrounding trees in our societies to build those things. Secondly, During the manufacturing process, plenty of chemical substances are used by producers, for instance, in the dying process for colouring clothes. These producers sometimes dump those substances into the rivers or fields around their factory which in turn affect communities around that area. Additionally, a lot of workers are being laid off because of the use of online shopping. At first, many physical shops do not need staff in their shops anymore to explain the details of their products to customers. For example, IKEA puts their product details under or beside the pictures of their products lead to the customers just read it on the website and not needing to come to their physical shops. Furthermore, to maintain the online platform, owners only need some staff to maintain their websites. To illustrate, they hire only IT staff in order to look after their pages and several staff to collect purchasing data. Overall, the rise of online shopping these modern days can have effects on both the environment and individuals