Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution are two pressing issues all over the world. As the majority of cars and bikes are petrol driven, elevating petrol price can reduce their numbers on the roads, and as a result, help control traffic congestions and pollution to a great extent, I believe. Unlike the past, when only rich people could afford automobiles, a majority of car and motorbike owners, these days, are from middle-class families. Therefore, a higher fuel cost will affect their budget, and many of them might opt-out using petroleum driven cars. Such surge in prices will increase the demand for public transportations which is by far the most efficient way to pull out the pollution and traffic jam problems. Moreover, such a price hike will make eco-friendly automobiles popular. For instance, electric cars, or CNG or LPG driven vehicles can become a viable option for consumers. Although it cannot reduce traffic problems, it can reduce pollutions effectively. Other solutions can also be considered instead of upscaling petroleum price only. To begin with, the government can implement policies to restrict the number of cars per family can own, and also offer subsidies to citizens to purchase electric cars. An odd-even approach can be implemented by states where number plates ending with odd numbers can use some roads during rush hours while cars with even number plates can run on other streets. Besides, citizens should change their mindset and help the authority in curbing traffic jams and pollutions. To conclude, increasing petrol price will open the doors for alternative options which can, directly and indirectly, combat both traffic and pollution problems. The government should make sure the petrol price does not hike the price of other necessary commodities.