Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertising plays a great role in our capitalist society. While some people believe that this exposure is not positive for our mental and financial health, others will advocate that they are important to keep us informed. I tend to agree with the former. To start with, the advertising's goal is to seduce consumers to buy things. Often, this strategy relies on the association of happiness and buying, as the act of spend money would give them pleasure and a sense of plenitude for feeling better by having something new to show off. Therefore, they are not selling things but status. Another point is that promoting products affects people of all ages and some of them do not have a mature perception of need and desire. For instance, children are target with even more advertised content, using their favourite characters and appealing aesthetic. Moreover, there is a higher frequency of their exhibition during holidays such as Christmas, when it is expected that parents will purchase gifts. From my point of view, being overly exposed to advertising increases the chances of making decisions emotionally. Even though I daily use a few tools on my smartphone, when it comes the moment to buy a new one, I have several episodes of choosing a new device pricier than the one before, only because it looks better and suggests that is worthy by all it offers. To sum up, advertising involves emotions and desire and is not compromised by real value and real need. When people are aware of its goal, they tend to be more critic and objective over their purchases.