In the future nobody will buy printed mews papers or books because they will be able to read everything online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most people say that in the years to come, printed newspapers or books will become obsolete, as online reading materials are available for one and all to read freely. I strongly disagree with this perspective, as most online materials are not available for free. Firstly, saying that people can read everything on the internet without paying is untrue. For instance, there are many websites, such as Elsevier, which ask readers to subscribe to their payment plans in order to full access to the materials on their website. Such content providers lure non - subscribers to visit them by allowing them free access to only a limited number of article. Similarly, most e-books are available only for purchase, unless they are legally distributed without charge. Secondly, reading content on the screen is unpleasant due to constant advertisements, pop-up notifications and messages. Also, spending a lot of time on the screen is harmful to the eyes because of the light from the screen. In contrast,there are no such harmful effects of reading from a physical page. Additionally, there will always be a group of people who would prefer to buy printed newspapers at nominal prices and books for many reasons. To illustrate, many people, value and enjoy the experience of reading and collecting physical books of their favourite authors whereas others love the smell of paper and the act of turning pages. In conclusion, I firmly disagree with the statement that in the days to come people would prefer reading online over buying printed newspapers or books and it is a misconception to state that people can read everything for free on the internet.