Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that public places like zoos should be abolished as they carry the harmful effects for animals. While some people contradict this statement, I think that it has its drawbacks as much as advantages. On the one hand, zoos are the great alternatives for natural reserves where the animals can be undertaken and be looked after by biologists and zoo staff. Furthermore, the extinct species are seriously monitored by the policy. Wild animals, in fact, are more protected in zoos rather than in wild nature as the potential of danger would be huge in natural areas. In other words, the government and authorities tend to make any efforts to provide a better life for animals even in urban areas. On the other hand, the disadvantages of zoos are also undeniable as the isolation may irritate wild animals as they usually are not able to get adopted with barriers and so-called cells which surround them. As a result, they may cause some disasters within the zoo areas by hurting visitors or by behaving savagely. This indeed has a negative impact on zoos' reputation, so some of them have to be closed in order to overcome other heavy outputs of the failed business. Nevertheless, I think that the government should be prepared to tackle the issue of wild habitats for the sake of both local people and animals. To conclude, Although keeping wild animals in zoos may include some negative elements, I consider that they should be provided with appropriate conditions to live among people.