Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In order to save time on transport to work, some people harbour a belief that parks and gardens that are close to the city centres should be replaced by apartment buildings whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand neutrally with both opinions as it is a good way to reduce time on travelling to work but the importance of parks and gardens also cannot be ignored. Initially, the transportation time to work can be efficiently saved when citizens have more chances to live in the city centres so the occupation of parks and gardens should be decreased. As spaces in city centres are generally inadequate for living, there is no way but to sacrifice some facilities like parks and gardens which are relatively non-essential. Besides, they usually have large coverage due to their huge capacity. Therefore, when some of the infrastructure is removed, the areas for housing will be considerably increased. At the other end of the spectrum, parks and gardens have vital roles to play in daily life. Not only children can let off steam there but also adults can find places to relieve stress after a hard working day. Moreover, city centres are usually crowded which is prone to raising citizens' anxiety. Thus, the existence of parks and gardens is crucial to building up a healthy community. To sum up, despite the fact that altering parks and gardens to apartment buildings can solve the problem of long distances to work, the significance of urban green spaces cannot be denied. Hence, it is essential to implement an optimal distribution of urban plans so as to strike a balance between both sides.