The most effective way to solve the current traffic and pollution problems in cities is to encourage people to move from the suburbs or countryside into the city center. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic congestion and pollution are rapidly burgeoning in the cities. Some people opine that the best solution to these problems is to motivate people to live in the countryside and villages. Although this can curb the problem up to a certain extent, I partially agree with this notion. On the one side, the movement of people to the countryside will decrease the population burden in cities. Few cars will run on the roads which eventually lead to fewer traffic jams. Least jams will lead to less air pollution. For instance, counts of automobiles in a town is directly dependant on the number of people residing in the local area. If the population of the particular location decrease, the problem of traffic and pollution will gradually solve. Encouraging people to move to small towns and villages will help to reduce the population in cities. Hence, this approach will be helpful in curbing these issues. On the other side, shifting of people to small towns may deteriorate the situation as large companies and institutions are still in big cities. People will commute to the cities for their office work and study. If they continue travelling, the problem of traffic will not solve. Movement of people can help; nevertheless, employment opportunities also be available there. People will still visit cities frequently in search of better jobs and education. For instance, locals of small towns commute to Delhi on daily basis for their office work and college. If they get work and better education in their home towns, they will not visit. Therefore, the problem cannot be eradicated by the migration of people, better opportunities at small towns and countryside are vital. In conclusion, the movement of people can be helpful but this situation will not alleviate. People will visit metropolitan cities in search of a better life if better facilities are not provided at their native places. I am not completely in favour of this idea of encouraging people to shift.