Students in some countries leave school without good understanding of how to manage their money. What do you think are the reasons? What are the solutions to this problem?

In recent years, a huge number of youngsters have graduated from educational settings without developing effective money management skills. Scholars believe that this problem arises mainly from allocating a small proportion of time for such subjects and lack of work experience. However, I strongly believe that certain measures can be taken to address this issue. This essay will examine the causes of this problem and suggest possible solutions. To begin with, one major cause of the lack of money management skills is insufficient emphasis on the subject in the curriculum. Unlike maths and literature, money management classes are usually ignored by school authorities. As a result, the youth struggle in making budgets, lacking the ability to use money wisely. Furthermore, a significant number of young people do not participate in part-time jobs which enables them to perceive how to use money more cautiously. It is widely accepted that students who work are known to make plans according to their incomes. However, there are several ways to tackle this issue. Firstly, school authorities should focus more on money management classes which,in turn, play a crucial role in students' future lives. For instance, adding some extra hours to the syllabus is likely to provide youth with basic knowledge about this skill. Moreover,educators can recommend children useful reading materials, which elucidate how wealthy people manage their financial resources. Hence, it is likely that students can obtain this skill without taking part in part-time jobs. Finally, parents should demonstrate a role model of how to use money more carefully by making a budget together with their offspring. To conclude, a lack of money management skills occurs mainly due to ignorance of the subject at school and insufficient work experience. However, I strongly believe that this problem can be addressed by supplementing more hours in the syllabus and by parents demonstrating the skill in real-life situations.