Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Art plays a vital role in a number of different cultures which exist in our society. There are different types of it such as painting, cooking, music and dancing. It is considered important to teach children art as it enhances their creative skills and help them in expressing their thoughts and ideas. However, I believe it should not be taught at the detriment of other subjects. Children should be taught art as it gives them an opportunity to express themselves. For example, a child with a speaking inability would find art as a medium for communication and can opt to express his thoughts to the outer world through his painting skills. Similarly, people who are not good at being vocal about their feelings can opt to write poems or songs and express their emotions through it. Owing to this, art is said to be a language of one's expressions. Nevertheless, the thought to teach it at the discretion of other subjects is not convincing. Children need to focus on all the subjects in order to facilitate a healthy development both mentally and physically. Therefore, to maintain a healthy balance, the school curriculum should focus on all subjects such as art, science, language and sports equally at school. In conclusion, we can say that art is said to be an essential skill for children's creativeness. Despite many children showing their interest in art, especially at a young age and enjoying it fully, it should still be taught equally alongside all other subjects at school.