Some business observe that new employees who just graduated from a college or university seem to lack interpersonal skills needed for communication with their colleagues. What could be the reason for this? What solution can help address this problem?

Some organizations believe that fresh graduates from colleges who join their companies lack the interpersonal skills required to communicate with their peers. The reason for this is spending more time on digital tools and living an independent lifestyle. The solution is to interact with people in social gathering activities. One of the major reasons it is difficult for young workers to communicate with their folks is spending more time on digital media. In other words, they are addicted to social media and avoid meeting people physically. For instance, they prefer watching a movie on Netflix instead of playing outdoors with their friends, where they can interact and share information. Consequently, companies have to provide some sessions where young employees can interact and exchange knowledge with each other. This will help them understand the importance of verbal skills and cooperation required when you work towards solving a problem together. Another factor is having a lifestyle where you live independently. For the past few years, it has become a trend to live alone where you have all the freedom to do anything. They consider this way they will be more happy and no one will be there to judge them. But, this affects them when they start working for a company. One of the solutions to address this problem is to be involved in social activities like technical meet-ups and outings with peers. Organizations can set up a meeting once every week where there is no work talk but only casual conversations. In conclusion, although digital tools and lifestyles have affected employees' communication skills, getting involved in social meetings with colleagues can help us improve our interpersonal expertise.