The news media have too much influence on people’s lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, Technology has been at the forefront to provide people with real-time news and updates through apps and websites. Effects of the increasing influence of media houses over people have been considered a negative effect and have some consequences. To begin with, Rising competition among major newsroom due to TRP has decreased the content and quality of news being released nowadays. Due to developments in phone technology, Spreading rumour or untrue facts has been far easier in the present. However, before the internet was introduced, the information was communicated through radio and newspaper which had less impact on the general population because not everyone paid attention. In addition, organizations which are responsible to censor the broadcasts from these channels have made no new regulations even with the increasing influence among the citizens. Also, spreading hatred between two communities through the presentation of false facts has been considered a threat in countries like India. Misinterpretation of facts can be harmful, For example,a recent riot took place in the USA due to wrong information presented by certain channels. To conclude, I believe every individual has a right to be presented with events or news but the authenticity of this material should be verified before presenting to the country. Improvements made in technology should be used in the development of the country and shouldn't be used to influence the citizens. There is a need to set up regulations which will allow the newsrooms to operate in a professional manner and present true knowledge to its viewers.