The media pays too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers, or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the exponential growth of social media platforms, many people argue that social platforms are too focused on the lives and relationships of famous figures such as artists and athletes. Instead, they should divert this attention to the lives of common people. From my perspective, I agree with this statement, and the following essay is going to support my claim. There are several disadvantages to paying too much attention to celebrities’ activities. Most notably, famous figures’ privacy is violated. Famous figures and celebrities are also human beings, so they also need to complete their daily tasks and satisfy their needs. However, in order to provide audiences with sensational headlines, paparazzi and journalists may spy on their schedules and try to get a picture or do an interview, causing dissatisfaction, which sometimes can escalate to violence. Tobey Maguire, for instance, was observed shouting at a photographer after the latter stopped him as he was attempting to take a picture on the street. While common citizens may not encounter such problems, Tobey was angered, and this experience increased his predisposition against the press on privacy issues. On the other hand, diverting attention to common people’s lives could bring about some benefits, namely raising awareness about adversities in life. Even though our society is developing at a blooming rate, there are still a lot of individuals struggling just to afford their basic necessities. Thus, by concentrating their efforts on broadcasting these aspects, online platforms can attract the attention of society and help society have a clear perspective on underdeveloped regions. For instance, many interviews have been conducted to raise awareness about the horrible living standards in some parts of Hanoi. As a result, citizens have a better view of underprivileged lives and are also attracting funds and aid from charity workers to improve their situations. In conclusion, social media should decrease the focus on celebrities’ activities due to the intrusion of privacy while also increasing their effort to broadcast about the lives of common citizens to unveil the hardships that some of them have to endure.