Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extend do you agree?

A number of individuals argued that the Government should solely spend resources on the development of thoroughfare, however, others opine that they should focus more on the local transit system of the country. In my opinion, I believe both the roadways and transportation system are interconnected to each other; so equal attention should be given to them. Hence, this essay will outline the importance of each viewpoint with a particular premise. On the one hand, one of the major benefits of advanced roadways is less shipment congestion and accidents. There are fewer chances of accidents if the roads are wide and smooth and also the traffic flows gradually even in the rush hours. In other words, in Mumbai, if all the pathways are constructed wide there would be a better passage of traffic and more safety for the homeless people who sleep on the footpath at night. Nevertheless, public transportation contributes a lot to saving the environment in terms of reducing air pollution in the city. For instance, according to the recent survey of World Environment, if 20 out of 50 people travel using local transit, it would diminish the release of air pollutants by 20% in the air which could make a huge difference to save this planet in the long run. Since, most of the visitors and people who cannot afford private vehicles prefer travelling by buses, cabs or subways; the officials should spend an ample amount of money for the maintenance and purchase of new means. In conclusion, it is obligatory for a nation's higher authorities to give focused attention towards the infrastructure and environment to make this world a better place to live. As both aspects resolve several issues such as traffic congestion, air pollution, accidents. Therefore, the government should spend a hefty amount of sum in the development of both means.