Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion

Some corporations force their workers to comply with a dress code during the working hours. This essay will show that the disadvantage of this outweighs its advantage. It will first suggest that a higher level of discipline among staff is the prime merit, followed by a discussion of how it can sometimes lead to job dissatisfaction. Employees are forced to wear a specific uniform when they are working because it is believed that they would demonstrate better behaviour toward their company policy and image. This helps customers to recognize the employees of a particular company easily whenever they need help, which could potentially improve the reputation of the company. As a result, workers feel more responsibility toward representing their organization in a professional way. For example, Apple's staff is a prime example, customers recognize them well once they see someone wearing a red t-shirt and know they are going to serve them in a courteous style. Conversely, Dressing the same outfit every day may create dissatisfaction among the staff because it restricts their freedom. Employees want to be treated as professional,not as children in a primary school; therefore, they consider their clothes style as i nseparable part of their personality. A recent study made by Oxford University found that 75% of workers hate their job because they were not able to choose to wear what they want. This rigid instruction leads to reduce the flexibility that employees usually look for it which would make it more difficult to effectively adapt to the culture of their company. Overall, it is clearly regarded as a drawback because it distracts workers from performing their tasks effectively. Dressing unified apparel does not always mean that employees are going to respect their work office rules or show well-manners in the vocational activities. The Sunday Times recently reported that 66% of the staff who are working at the customer services counters acted in an impolite way with regular customers. To sum up, it is often argued that workers should have one type of garment during work-office hours. Although it assists to set up a formal environment, it can make them hate or resent their job. However, Uniforms may undermine the flexibility and the autonomy of employees, which would have a negative impact on their performance.