Should governments make decisions about people’s life styles or should people make their own decisions?

The lifestyle of people should be their own choice rather than a decision of governments. It is because every individual has a right to decide the conditions in which he or she wants to live because of certain reasons which are explained in the following discussion. To begin with, nowadays, everyone has a desire to attain a luxurious and lavish lifestyle so they can enjoy the moments of their living. It is up to a person’s own choice to have a moderate standard of living or to have a high-end life.. This provides them with a goal and a purpose in their lives which allows them to burn the midnight oil to achieve it. For example, there are certain age groups (mostly of age greater than 65) who prefer to live with peace and content even when they do not have huge sums of money to buy a large home or car. Instead, younger people (mostly of age ranging from 20-30) wish to have huge apartments, fancy cars. Therefore, they struggle since early adulthood to attain that level. Governments, in my viewpoint, have no say in making such decisions about the lifestyle a person can have. If governments decide upon a basic pattern of living for the whole public, the urge to strive hard to achieve something will eventually die. It is because people will not be having any motive to try hard for. For instance, in Pakistan, a scheme was planned for the poor community to provide them with bread and clothing through a pre-decided monthly amount in their names which led to a reduction in the rate of employment in those masses which added up to the burden on the shoulders of the local government. Therefore, in my opinion, it is better for the masses to settle on the standard of living they want to have rather than the government taking care of this issue.