The most important role of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples form your own knowledge or experience.

It is evident that science has had a significant role in the improvement of humans ' lives. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the ultimate purpose of science should be to serve merely humans or it should be used to serve other creatures. Although there are valid arguments to the contrary, in this essay I would contend that animals and the Earth have the same right as humans to be improved by the help of science. The reasons for this are as follows. With regard to the physical issues, it is an indisputable fact that although science has a long way to go in curing untreated fatal ailments in humans, hazardous diseases in animals have the same right to be treated with the help of science. Parva viruses, which kill thousands of dogs around years, globally are a salient example of this. Despite the simplicity of the process of curing, abandoning infected dogs untreated would lead to their death. Thus, trying to find scientific solutions to remove such detrimental viruses that jeopardise animals ' lives is essential. Secondly and even more importantly, though, should be preserving the Earth and addressing its challenges, as a habitat for all creatures including animals and humans. It is obvious that humans have caused the Earth to sustain considerable losses like air pollution as well as Ozone layer puncture, which disrupt the natural ecosystem. So, rather than neglecting the environment as a trivial issue, paying attention to it in science and persisting in finding ways in order to deal with those difficulties are of significant importance. By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that rather than having such a selfish attitude towards utilizing science for merely humans ' benefits, possessing a comprehensive view toward applying science to the advancement of animals, the environment seems more logical. So, applying science in a comprehensive way is likely to be in humans ' own interest.