Today’s teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss the view and give your own opinion.

A commonly held belief is that nowadays adolescents live under a large amount of pressure, in comparison to older generations. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the given topic and show my approval. To begin with, the fast pace of technological development is certainly playing an active role in stressing young adults. There are some devices and advancements older age groups did not have in the past, which lead them to have a more relaxing atmosphere. Nevertheless, today there are a lot of devices and social media networks that make younger people compare themselves with others. For instance, applications such as Instagram,Facebook, Snapchat can severely affect a teenager’s mindset. Usually, adolescents see a large number of smiling individuals over the internet, and this is the reason why they think that those people’s lives are perfect, without any flaws, while their lifestyle is boring and unneeded. Consequently, those thoughts can lead to multiple mental illnesses - depression, low self-esteem, etc. On the other hand, now is the time in history, when personal growth has reached its peak. There are so many programmes and consultants that teenagers can take some advice from. Why then is it such a great problem for young adults to seek help? The answer is because they are afraid of other people’s opinion. Even though there are numerous ways an individual can reduce their emotional baggage, they are still afraid of a person who may call them weak. A great example is going to a therapist. Despite the excellent pieces of advice a psychologist provides, the patient can be ashamed of sharing with others his experience with his consultant, due to the belief that this is embarrassing. As a result, more stress is accumulated. In conclusion, I firmly believe that in the modern era of advancements in the sphere of technologies, young adults feel more stressed than any previous generation. Mental exhaustion and comparison to online celebrities are severely damaging youngsters' mentality, and although new methods of consulting have been invented in the last century, adolescents may not use their help, due to peer pressure as well as embarrassment.