In today's world many people own a smartphone. Do you think the advantages of owning a smartphone outweigh the disvantages?

In this digital era, the majority of individuals have their own mobile or smartphone in their pocket. The writer believes that the benefits of convenience and entertainment outweigh the drawbacks of causing mental problems. One of the most obvious advantages that it brings is the accessibility to contact everyone anywhere at any time without having a physical meeting. Before the smartphone was invented, the only way to communicate with people from a large distance was usually by letter and it took around 2-4 weeks for transportation. In modern days, we only need a portable technology gadget and pressing a few buttons to have a conversation with anyone in every location. As a result, individuals have it more convenient to keep in touch with their loved ones than writing a letter. Another advantageous factor that can be considered is bringing more entertainment to humans. It is common to find thousands if not millions of programs on platforms like YouTube, Facebook, etc. Watching a movie on a gadget like a mobile phone is a fantastic way to relax after a tiring day. Thus, removing the stress from work and school and entertaining with individuals’ family or friends. However, many believe that smart gadgets can bring negativity to mental health. Using a device too much can lead to addiction, depression, anxiety or anger outbursts. While this may be true, but this can easily be tackled by setting the number of times that we use and the smartphone can automatically be shut off after that. Apple has noticed this and applied it to its latest product which is iPhone 16. Taking everything into account, the advantages of having entertainment and accessibility to everyone in any location surpass the disadvantages of having mental issues. Thus, the writer recommends everyone have their own smartphone.