Walking is known to be beneficial for health but these days the number of people walking has reduced a lot. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this situation?

Nowadays, It has been observed that many people lead sedentary lifestyles, despite the fact that activities such as walking are essential for well-being and longevity. In this essay, I will explore what are the main reasons for this issue and secondly, I will explore some potential remedies to address it. There is significant evidence across a wide range of health-related issues due to the lack of exercise in today's households. In the first place, Technology plays a crucial role in driving this problem. In other words, large segments of the population spend an enormous amount of time behind screens, including gaming, social media, and online meetings which means they stay at home more than in the past. During the COVID-19 pandemic, individuals were confined in their homes, many employees began working online which led to hectic routines. secondly, As a result of digitizing education at an unprecedented rate, lots of ordinary people are now taking online courses, while in previous decades, they attended face-to-face classes which allowed walking and going outside. On the other hand, there are some sustainable methods that can be adopted to alleviate this problem. Education is often seen as a key factor in alerting people how a lack of sports can cause chronic illnesses such as diabetes, high heart rate, and cancer. If schools, for instance, put sports as a school syllabus alongside other subjects, then teach youngsters to do exercises regularly. Governments should build special areas and parks that are suitable for walking and jogging. the effects in turn encourage people to do sports more. The Netherlands government, for example, has developed many special areas for walking and biking as a result more people engage in sports and use bikes while they go to work or the market compared with other countries which drive cars. To conclude, despite digitalization and modern lifestyles which make people lazy, some approaches can encourage them to do exercises more and more.