Smacking children is the best form of discipline to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Instilling discipline has always been of utmost importance to parents in raising responsible children. Some people believe spanking is the best manner to correct them when they put up a display of inappropriate behaviour. This essay will argue why physical punishment is entirely detrimental to the mental and physical wellbeing of younger ones. Unfortunately, some people see smacking as an effective corrective measure to call a child to order. Hence, they believe inflicting them with some sort of pain would deter them from bad behaviour. For instance, most African parents slap their children on the face as a way to stop them from misbehaving and also to remind them to comport themselves. No wonder children are kept in check with this practice. Even though some parents use this form of discipline which is totally wrong, there is still a better method to train a child to behave in a good manner. This involves effective communication which is far more useful in correcting ill-mannered kids than beating them. In order words, a child that is sat down and talked to calmly would listen to advise and correction. To illustrate this, a study carried out in Nigeria by the Ministry of Education in 1991 found out that 80% of best-performing students in schools are the ones who did not have to go through physical abuse. Not only does communication improves children’s behaviour but also enhances their general wellbeing which in turn impacts positively on their academics. Therefore, correcting a child’s behaviour by talking to them is extremely useful. To conclude, this essay argued that corporal punishment is not the best method to call children to order as it can have long term negative impacts on them. In my opinion, communicating with children is absolutely an effective way to correct them instead of subjecting them to physical torture.