In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In a number of places around the world, an increasing number of citizens are turning to vegetarianism. While some believe there are disadvantages of this in terms of people’s health, particularly low protein intake, this essay believes the positive impacts a vegetarian diet has on our environment far outweigh any potential drawbacks. Some people fear that a vegetarian diet cannot provide adequate protein to sustain long-term health. It is well known that meat is a rich source of protein, which the body needs in order to grow and repair cells. For example, the British National Health Service recommends that adults eat approximately 50 grams of protein per day for optimal health. However, I feel that animal products are not the only sources of protein as nuts, pulses, eggs and dairy products are all excellent sources of protein that can be used instead. One of the main advantages of an increase in vegetarianism is that this type of diet has a much lower environmental impact than a meat-based diet. That is to say that eating plant-based sources of protein instead of animal products uses much less land and water and produces much fewer greenhouse gases. For instance, the Guardian newspaper recently reported that beef results in over 100 kilos of greenhouse gases per 100 grams of meat produced, while the same amount of tofu only produces 3.5 kilos of harmful gases. Therefore, this essay concurs that eating plant-based proteins is an advantage as it can be part of the solution to global warming. In conclusion, although protein is a necessary part of a healthy diet, I believe it is much more advantageous to eat vegetarian sources of protein rather than meat to help reduce our environmental impact.