The best way to solve environmental problems would be for the current generation to accept a simpler way of life for the sake of the next generation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few decades, our planet has suffered substantial deterioration in terms of the environment. To overcome this problem, it is commonly argued that the present habitants of the world should adopt simpler living for the upcoming generations. However, I believe that there are several alternative ways to save nature and prevent further damage to the environment. First and foremost, migration towards a simpler life can be very critical and a difficult move. This is because most of the human beings presently living on the earth have become so addicted to the technological advancements that it would be nearly impossible for them to opt simple living. This might also result in economic chaos and disruption in the infrastructure of existing ways of doing things. For example, people who are usually dependent on motor transport to travel several miles in their routine will be unable to complete their daily tasks if they switch to bicycle or walking. On the other hand, there are some viable solutions that can aid in saving the environment other than to move backwards in time. Firstly, electric technology should replace the largely implemented fuel ignition systems on passenger vehicles, which plays important role in damaging the environment by the burning of fossil fuels. Secondly, the electricity should be generated solely from water turbines and solar energy. This will not only reduce the damage to the environment but will also aid in reducing the per-unit cost of the electricity. A recent survey conducted by The New York Times shows that the negative impact on the ozone layer has decreased significantly in the past five years due to the increasing solar panel installations on the residential level. To conclude, opting a simpler life to save the environment for future generation can be difficult as most people nowadays are majorly dependent on existing technologies. However, other solutions like switching to electric vehicles and using green energy in homes can significantly reduce the impact on the environment, which can help the next generations to sustain in this world without environmental problems.