Many high street shops have gone out of business in recent years. Why do you think this has happened? Is it a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that small shops located on different highways have gradually fallen out of work. This has happened because of the significant reduction of clientele due to various reasons. Firstly, these outlets have been known not to have a variety of products as compared to supermarkets. Therefore, a customer will normally prefer to use large well-established stores to get all the necessities at once; this also saves a lot of time. In addition, highway stores seem not to be comfortable or convenient for shopping. To illustrate, these places barely have any parking area while supermarkets usually have large secure and free parking. Whereas the mini-markets have proved not to be safe, large grocery shops have high-security systems. This has driven most of the co-operate customers away from street shops. In fact, the target clientele (pedestrians) for small shops has greatly reduced because many people use private cars for transport. In my perspective, I believe that this development is a great disadvantage to the community. To begin with, the level of poverty has greatly increased because many individuals lack the finances to own a large supermarket. Consequently, they will be forced out of business leaving them with no money to sustain themselves or families. To add, there has been a drastic increase in prices in a large supermarket making the cost of living very high for the middle-class income citizens. Nevertheless, the phasing out of high street shops has generally improved the infrastructure of the country at large. This has improved the overall image of the major cities as well as made the citizens proud of the country. Although, this has come at the expense of the small shop owners losing business. To conclude, I believe that small high street shops going out of business is obviously an inconvenience. Thus,the few benefits can as well be ignored. What is going to happen to the small shop owners?