Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

It is quite common these days that the young are much influenced by peer pressure. It is my belief that the positive effects of this phenomenon could certainly offset its disadvantages. There are several drawbacks to peer pressure. A common reason is that young people ’s mentality is negatively affected, which can lead to worry or depression. In fact, working or studying with better students can make young people uncomfortable. For example, when I study in a class with a lot of classmates who learn much better than me, I feel very pressured and ashamed. Another negative aspect can be that the youth often feel uncomfortable with their appearance. This means that if peers just pay attention too much attention to appearance and make judgments, young people can feel uneasy and try to be as fashionable as possible, which can be very costly. However, in spite of these negative effects, peer pressure can bring about important benefits. One obvious advantage is that young people have opportunities and environments to develop themselves better. In fact, if young people are surrounded by good people, they can learn from them such as trying anything new or discovering new ideas to help them overcome some difficult problems. For example, my colleagues in my brother’s company work productively and solve problems quickly; therefore, my brother day by day works more effectively and productively, and he has just been promoted to manager. In conclusion, it’s common that young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by peers. While this can make them sometimes stressed, there can be a lot of benefits in helping young people to have motivation to grow and succeed.