More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries. Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Several nations are facing a steady rise in the number of obesity cases especially in children and commonly in rich countries. This essay will discuss the main causes of overweight and then describe the possible adverse effects of it on youngster’s lifestyle. To start with, the foremost causes of obesity are inactive lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits. Today children are more addicted to online games instead of playing outdoor sports and also prefer inactive leisure activities. This results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight. Moreover, the problem is accentuated by the growing number of youngsters, who eat irregularly and consumes large portions of high-calorie food. For instance, more than 50 per cent of the children in the USA are suffering from obesity because of disordered eating habits. The possible effects of this problem include physical health problems and loss of productivity. First of all, obesity makes people vulnerable to various chronic diseases. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the person’s metabolism worsens, which in turn may result in diabetes and heart diseases. Secondly, overweight people are very unhealthy and often suffer from stress and tiredness. This lessens their work capacity and results in lower productivity. For example, it has been proven that an obese person needs to put more efforts to complete some task than a person with normal weight. To sum up, obesity is a big problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. It’s mainly caused by inactive lifestyle and eating disorders and results in severe health problems and loss of productivity.