Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child. Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school? What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child’s education?

Although certain children do not receive any sort of motivation from their parents to excel in academics, other parents exert high pressure on their children which creates a detrimental effect on them. In my view, I strongly believe that it is the society which is majorly responsible for making the parents push their child too much to do well in studies. I think that parents ought to behave as a mentor for their children to get good grades in school. Many parents make their children undergo unwanted stress due to the influence of society in which they live. This is because most of the people in the community discriminate among children based on the marks secured by them in examinations. They think that if a child scores higher marks it is a symbol of intelligence. As a result, parents put excessive pressure on their children so that they should not be labelled as an underperformer. For example, many children are bullied in social gatherings by repeatedly asking about their marks in front of others even after knowing that they have got average marks. It is, therefore, apparent that had there not been discrimination among children in the community based on academic performance, some parents would not have pressurized their children. On the other hand, children certainly need parents who can act as a mentor in their life. Predominant reason being that they face numerous challenges when it comes to studies, not every child has the same level of competency. Parents must guide them and show support so that they can overcome such obstacles and perform well not only in studies but also in co-curricular activities as well. To illustrate, if a child finds it difficult to solve math problems, parents must sit and analyze and find a way to explain by which they can understand. Thus, children could come out in flying colours, if their parents are understanding and supportive of them. To conclude, there are different kinds of parents in the community. I feel that parents should not give unnecessary pressure to their children because of society rather they should standby them and extend their full support to make them perform exceptionally well not only in academics but also in all the aspects of life as well.