Some people believe that excessive use of modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advances in technology that are happening nowadays, computers and mobile phones with a variety of features has been extensively used by young people, including children. Some people agree that the constant and increasing use of these devices may affect kids and teenagers abilities to write and read. I strongly agree with this statement for some reasons that I will explain in this essay. Recently we are facing an era where is easy to see children using tablets and cell phones frequently at home and even at schools. For example, during COVID -19 pandemic, children and teenagers were obligated to use these devices to engage in virtual classes and even kids at Junior Kindergarten had to adapt and use computers as part of their teaching. Moreover, instead of writing and reading books, this kids were typing and listening to the teacher reading books on the screen. This action will for sure be deleteriuos for their writing skills, since in the first years of school they are not developing the ability to write properly. In addition, teenagers have been changing their reading habits to stay in computers and mobile phones, navigating through i nternet or checking social media. This attitude has led to less reading and consequently not developing critical thinking skills, not to mention that they are substituing writing for typing, which is easier and faster. And not only at home, even schools have been engaging these people to use tablets and computers at schools. For example, schools in Brazil recently changed the curriculum of high school, and students are engaged to bring computers and tablets to the classroom instead of using books, what consequently decreases the habit of reading and writing. In conclusion, in my opinion the extensively use of devices is changing the routine of young people, that instead of engaging theirselves in developing creativity and learning skills provided by the use of books, are changing their habits to an increased screen time and the use of typing rather than writing.