Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, the amount of time spent watching television and playing electronic games by children has been increasing dramatically. In my opinion, spending too much time watching movies or playing video games has detrimental effects on children’s mental and physical well-being. On the one hand, I strongly believe that allocating excessive amounts of time to electronic devices and television may lead to several significant health problems. In other words, being stuck behind a desk playing games may result in a sedentary lifestyle which brings physical diseases such as obesity. From a psychological perspective, some video games are programmed to manipulate children’s brains, therefore, they are more likely to suffer from mental problems, namely depression and delay in learning. Furthermore, being obsessed with such cutting-edge devices has an adverse effect on their school performance. To clarify, students who spend most of their time surfing the web or watching movies, do not have enough attention and time to accomplish their school’s assignments. Consequently, they may lose marks in their exams and fall behind their peers. On the other hand, some people claim that watching a lot of TV programs and playing computer games help kids to increase their knowledge. They firmly insist that such platforms can broaden youngsters’ horizons as well as cultivate their creativity and innovation. However, I do not find this argument convincing as such habits have destructive influences rather than constructive ones. As a result, parents not only should monitor the amount of time their kids spend on such gadgets but also they should have close observation of the contents of the programs. Research findings confirm that preschool pupils who are familiar with technological software will have better interpersonal skills as well as problem-solving abilities in the future. In conclusion, I completely agree that spending too much time on computerized games and watching television has negative effects on children’s mental health because they are not only deprived of a normal life but also develop a habit which causes numerous psychological illnesses.