Some people say that now we can see films on our phones or tablets there is no need to go to the cinema. Others say that to be fully enjoyed, films need to be seen in a cinema. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For some individuals going to the movies has lost its purpose, since now we can watch films on our digital devices. Others argue that they should be watched in a cinema in order to get the full experience. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and then I will give my own opinion which is that it is better to watch movies in a movie theatre. On the one hand, watching movies on electronic devices can be a great alternative. Firstly because it is way cheaper than going to a cinema. Today people can subscribe to Netflix, for example, and pay a monthly fee to see as many films as they want. Secondly, it is also very convenient since you can watch movies anywhere, so nowadays there is no need to make a trip to a movie theatre. For example, if someone decides to watch a film, they can simply do it from the comfort of their home, they do not need to check if there are seats available on the cinema or if they can get there on time, they can simply watch it from their phone. On the other hand, going to the cinema also has its benefits. When someone watches a film in a movie theatre they have the opportunity to enjoy all the features available, like a perfect sound system, 3D movies, sitting on an extremely comfortable seat, the huge screen. It is impossible to have the same experience when you are watching on your tablet sitting on your car. Also, the whole atmosphere of a cinema is quite different, the smell of the popcorn, the trailers before the movie starts, the complete darkness. In conclusion, both sides have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the best way to enjoy a movie is in a movie theatre because of all the amazing features and unique atmosphere.