Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some say that states have to grow their own food as much as the community need it and decrease the import of products. Personally, I completely agree with this statement because it can impact much more positively. First of all, it is indeed quite expensive to import food from other countries. All because in other countries they produce the necessary and finished products themselves spending a lot of finances and time, and later sell what they made with a high price tag. Moreover, if the government grew its own eats without purchasing it from other countries, people would be delighted with abundant nourishment and cheap prices; in addition, it is a great way to improve the economy due to the fact that there would be no more waste to import the eats. For example, the state could allocate some places on their land for the cultivation and production of delicacies, such as potatoes, tomatoes and so on, in order to at least get the initial products. However, during the construction of a plant or the preparation of a place to grow food, some problems may arise, such as lack of funding, and initial edibles shortages. For instance, in order to manufacture some production factories and large-sized plants, the country has to allocate a tremendous amount of money for materials and workers. Additionally, It will take some time for provision production to normalise, which means that citizens will experience some disadvantages. Nevertheless, I believe that as time passes, all problems will be solved. In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that growing our own provisions and producing our own goods is an obviously positive way to improve both society and the country's economy.