Many people find it difficult to speak in front of and to present to an audience. It is believed that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

A large population experience challenges when they are required to address a gathering therefore some people argue that this technique needs to be part of the school curriculum. I strongly concur that the proficiency should be taught in schools and I will use this essay to elaborate the importance while providing the reasons for supporting the view. Firstly, the school system affords the theoretical aspects of any subject which help students to learn the skill through reading examples and concepts. In schools, a full understanding of the subject is provided through guidance from the mentor under relaxed environment putting into practice. Due to the knowledge gained through class lecturers which deal with all intricacies of presentations and public speaking, the challenges which are later encountered can easily be overcome. For example, studies have shown that throughout the world, people with academic knowledge on a particular subject tend to excel in the practical aspect of it. Therefore, it is important to allow audience addressing to be taught in schools. Secondly, teaching the skill at a tender age help individuals to build confidence and horn it in. At academic institutions, students are afforded enough time to practice in front of familiar peers thereby building their confidence. Furthermore, there is a gradual development of a plethora of presentation and public speaking skills. As such, upon graduation, students are prepared and equipped with the necessary skills and confidence to address any audience. To instantiate, a study conducted by the Wits University School of Social Development, found that individuals who developed proficiency through an academic system are savvier than their counterparts who will be learning through on the job training. Evidently, the school system prepares individuals hence it is important that public speaking be taught in schools. In conclusion, I strongly agree that public presentation and speaking expertise be natured in school because schools are important for imparting knowledge and gradual impartation of the skills required in practice.