Some people think we need to give aid to all poor countries. Others, however, argue that we should not give international aid to countries with corruption in their system. Discuss both views and provide your own opinion.

Some people hold the opinion that aid should be given to all the impoverished countries, whereas others say that help should not be provided to those countries which have corruption in their administration. In this essay I intend to discuss both perspectives. I believe all poor countries should be provided aid but to ensure that it reaches the poor people it should be in non-monetary form. There are many reasons why some people say that all poor countries should be supported by aid. Firstly, international aid is not only given to reduce poverty, but also to improve the donor country’s own security. By giving aid, the economic condition of the poor countries improves and so the conditions that promote terrorism, such as poverty, unemployment and corruption are removed. So, this aid promotes peace and stability in the whole world. On the other hand, those who say that countries with corruption should not be helped give their main reason that all the aid given will not reach the people for whom the aid is meant for. It may go into corrupt pockets. Secondly, it would make those people lazy, as they would be getting paid without doing any work. Thirdly, the aid may be used for wrong purposes. For example, the aid may be given for development projects but it may be used to promote terrorism. I believe that the best way to help poor countries would be to provide non-monetary aid, as it would reach the people it is meant for. For example, good educational institutes, good health centres and job opportunities can be created for people of poor countries. Furthermore, it would leave no scope for the corrupt politicians to siphon the funds away and ensure that the people in need are actually benefited. To sum up, international aid should be given to all poor countries, but if there is corruption it should not be in the form of monetary funds.