Some people believe that working from home is more beneficial for employees, while others argue that it reduces productivity and teamwork. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that remote jobs reduce work output and team collaboration, I believe that it is beneficial to employees because it promotes a better work –life balance. On the one hand, working from home can result in reduced productivity and teamwork. Firstly, home environments may be distracting, in addition to a lack of supervision can reduce discipline, resulting in low output. Secondly, Limited face-to-face interaction can make it harder for team members to bond. This can weaken the team relationships. A prime example is when the Government of Ghana in 2024 instructed all civil servants to stop working remotely and return to working from the office. This was because it was noticed that the staff were using their working hours for leisure. In addition, these employees couldn’t identify themselves outside work because of the minimal interaction. On the other hand, remote jobs can create a better work -life balance for employees. Daily commuting can be tedious and mentally draining. For instance, people who use public transport and live far away from their offices spend time shuttling to work. Sometimes, to resume at 9 am, they depart from their homes 2 hours earlier. This gives them less time for family and personal responsibilities. In contrast, permitting these workers to work remotely can reduce stress, which will result in improved well-being. In conclusion, although working remotely can lead to reduced workload due to the distractions at home, I believe that restricting these members of staff to office work can affect their social life, and it's preferable to work from home as it saves commuting time.