Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in that country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Travelling abroad or having a job opportunity in another country might be the only reasons for someone starting to learn a new language. However, some people believe that these are not the only motivations that justify this sort of education. Personally, I tend to agree with the latter opinion. At one hand, it is quite effective being capable of communicating in another language somewhere that has a different official language. Practical situations such as asking for help, using public transportation or dealing with natives can be less stressful when the traveller is comfortable while speaking in a foreign language. Nevertheless, on the other hand, the learning process is also an immersion in other culture and can develop even more abilities. For instance, though there is no objective usage for this skill, the effort and expansion of knowledge are one of the greatest methods to avoid mental illnesses and exercise memory. In my own opinion, education could be the answer to personal and global issues. Learning how to communicate in more languages than our own is always going to be valuable. For example, gathering and welcoming foreign people and feeling confident about going to explore the world. It is an ability that nobody can take from you and allow connection with people and communities. To sum up, although there can exist clear objectives to learn a new language when it comes to travel and work abroad, this knowledge is worth of time and dedication. Therefore, even without a practical goal in the horizon, the process of learning can offer granted benefits for an individual.