Some people claim many things that children are taught at school are a waste of time. Other people argue that everything taught at school is useful at some time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education is always a controversial topic among individuals, especially primary schooling which is seen as uselessness for students in a group of people’s eyes. While another group of individuals disagree with it, and they believe that knowledge been taught in primary schools is applicable to students. I personally agree that primary education is valuable for children in both building children’s social values and helping them with common sense. First and foremost, primary education can teach students basic knowledge which is able to be utilized in their daily life, such as counting and literate. Without these fundamental abilities, people would be difficult to survive in society independently, not mention cashing after higher education in the future. For instance, there is more than ninety per cent of positions required basic literate in the contemporary job market. So illiterates individuals might be hard to find a proper job after growing up. Furthermore, schooling can build student’s social values such as respecting and socializing, and these merits are particularly essential to human beings when interacting with others. According to my experience, Chinese students are required to greet their teachers before each class, and they are absolutely not allowed to fight and bully other classmates. Under the regulations, young generations are taught to respects others and politeness which can be utilized in social life, and this can be beneficial to them when making friends or communicate with others. However, it is not saying that all knowledge in primary education is useful. A recent report shows that nearly thirty per cent of the information in elementary schools will not be used in the following decades. Besides that, it is undeniable that the enormous knowledge we have learnt in the classes has been forgotten after graduation. Hence, it seems crucial to change some curriculum of elementary education to be more practical. In conclusion, even though there is some knowledge that might be not practical in real life, overall, I believe that the classes in primary schools are vital to individuals in terms of socialization and common senses.