Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on society

Examinations have always been an integral part of a student's life. However, there are a number of people who claim that this should not be the case, they believe that examinations aren't an adequate indicator of a child's ability to learn. In my opinion, exams play an important role. The following essay takes a look at both sides of the argument. To start with, it is a widely acclaimed notion that there should be a standardized way to be able to judge the learning ability of children, for which examination plays a crucial role. Furthermore, without conducting exams it would become a challenge for teachers to grade the student based on their ability, due to lack of a benchmark. As there is a common curriculum for every child of same age group, answering to a set of questions related to what they have learned gives an appropriate prediction of how well a child is able to grasp the concepts which are taught. On the other hand, since an early age, it is embedded in a young mind that higher marks in the examination are an indication of intelligence. This induces mental pressure on a child to study well and score higher grades, which in turn leads to them spending more time on studies instead of playing or indulging in their hobbies. However, this is not always true. To cite an example, Albert Einstein and Sir Issac Newton did not attain good grades in their school curriculum but later on went to be known as the most intelligent people in the world. Therefore, to avoid such pressure on a young mind, examinations should not be categorized as the sole criteria of one's abilities. To conclude, there are pros and cons to judging a student's level via examinations. However, in my opinion, examinations are an effective way of assessing a student's abilities, but they shouldn't be the only benchmarks to judge one's intelligence and talents.