Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Parents have raised their concerns about schooling methods which are used to teach their pupils in schools. It is often believed that stiff competition among students in class has a detrimental impact on their child, while others claim that challenging surroundings encourage children to increase their productivity and facilitate them to develop creative thinking skills. This essay will first look at the arguments in favour of this before moving on to look at those against it. In spite of the argument in favour, I believe that, despite some prospects of intense competition, generally it takes a toll on the mental health of a child in schools. The prime advantage of a competitive climate in educational settings is that it helps students to be focused while studying and instils a sense of self-improvement. Moreover, this kind of learning creates intellectually competent individuals for the corporate world. For example, the United Kingdom's boarding schools are designed to graduate students who are potential soldiers. I believe these schools represent only a a fraction of students who play their part in the shaping image of the country. Intense competition during the primitive years can cause serious psychological problems in children and halts their personality development. This is to say, due to pressure of expectations by their parents these kinds of students are prone to failure, which leads to problems in their personal lives. For instance, according to a study at Harvard university, about 50% of bright students end up failing in professional careers because they cannot cope with the pressure imposed on them. In conclusion, despite a few success stories of children studying in tough environments in schools, the overwhelming majority of children are not accustomed to this kind of learning and, for this reason, I believe that students should not be forced to function in stiff environments because it damages their learning process and halts their progress.