Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Recently, it has been seen that taking a year-long gap, before continuing higher education, has become a trend. During this time, they either prefer to travel the world or put themselves into earnings. In my opinion, this would definitely bring positive changes to their future. I would justify my stand in the ensuing paragraphs. There are three significant benefits of taking a break. The most compelling one is, it would give a chance to explore. By choosing to travel, it broadens their both geographical and mental horizon. That would not only help them build connections, but also make them tolerant of different cultures. Who knows these networks might lend them a better future. The other advantage is, by taking a job, they could earn some money and spend it for their further studies, instead of using their parents' savings. Besides, it would also improve their families financial wherewithal; also, gain some experience which companies are looking for in their potential candidates. Finally, whether holidaying or working, both ways would allow them to know their own needs as they would get time to reflect within and decide what they want to do in future, instead of following their peers and regretting afterwards. Although, opponents argue that those who start working might not return to studies because with time they would get comfortable with what they have. Also, deferring graduation for one year means they would lag behind their peers. However, it is true that their peers would graduate before them but they would lack the experience and skill that are required to reach the heights of the career. To encapsulate, getting a job or roam around the world, both bring in expertise and exposure, which would set them apart from their competitors. Hence, taking a year gap would be a prudent choice.