Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweight the disadvantages?

While many museums are charging the entrance fee, some of them are providing free passes for the customers. While people would mostly prefer to visit the museum for free, I agree that charging them is better for the museum in the long run due to quality maintenance and superior services. This essay will explain why the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages. On one hand, it is well known that human, in general, loves free goods and by establishing the no-admission expense regulation, it is most likely for the museum to be packed with visitors. Additionally, this strategy is a great way to reach and educate more people, especially about science and history. However, the museum would need to raise some funds elsewhere to finance the maintenance activities which is a hard thing to do with little success rate. For example, there are many museums in Jakarta that provide free entrance for the people who are being abandoned some years later because of no financial support. On the other hand, by charging the fee to customers, the museum would not face the problem stated in the previous paragraph. While the number of visitors would not be as much as free services, the number of recurring guests is expected to be higher because of high-level maintenance quality. Additionally, with the money on hand, the gallery could also increase its collection and create fun events which would also increase the number of future visitors. Furthermore, this decision would reach and educate more people than the free strategy. For example, a museum in London is making customers pay for several gallery sections, but every year it holds many different events and keeps adding new collections which makes more people around the world come to visit it. In conclusion, while a free admission fee would help the museum to reach and educate many people, by charging an entrance fee, the museum could maintain and improve its quality which in the end would provide a better service in addition to reaching and educating more people.