Many people believe that social networking sites such as facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Over the last few years, social media applications have become increasingly popular. While some people think that these sites have negatively affected both individuals and society, I completely disagree with this opinion and in this essay I will support my view with valid arguments and examples. To begin with, owing to the technological advancements we have now, the internet has been an integral part of our life. Take social media platforms as an example, they have great positive impacts on many individuals. For instance, people can communicate with their friends and family members who live in other parts of the world conveniently via Facebook or Twitter. In contrast, if these applications did not exist, it would be extremely difficult to keep in touch with other people who live abroad. Additionally, many educational institutes such as universities tend to make use of Facebook in their educational process. To illustrate, university professors usually upload their lectures and pdfs on their Facebook groups so their students can easily study their lessons. Furthermore, these platforms not only have a plethora of positive effects on individuals but also on the society as a whole. While the world is suffering from unprecedented unemployment rates, social media websites provide a good place for youngsters to run their own businesses. For example, many people have created Facebook groups where they can sell products such as clothes or household appliances online. In addition, some retailers use Instagram to market for their products and increase their productivity rate which, undoubtedly, boost the society’s economy. In conclusion, although some people might argue that social media applications have negative impacts on society and its individuals, I personally believe they have plenty of positive ones.