Many people depend on cars in their day-to-day life (for example, to drive to work). However, unrestricted car use has led to a number of problems. What are these problems? Should individuals be discouraged from using cars in order to reduce them?

Urban sprawl has led to many problems. People use vehicles more often in their routine which might save their time but can cause other loss to the environment. I think less usage of cars can be helpful in reducing those issues. Firstly, the habit of using more cars can make us feel uncomfortable if we have to walk even to a nearby place which is not good for the health of the individuals. Secondly, more use of vehicles causes bumper to bumper traffic which itself is harmful to the environment. And also, they get late to work. For example, I have seen many of my colleagues who come to the office by their vehicle and sometimes show up late. It also increases the stress level and mental anxiety. Even many parents drop their children to schools. Instead, students can prefer walking to school. Additionally, the emission of gases from the overuse of vehicles is one of the reasons for global warming. Future generations are at the risk of lack of resources. The more and more usage of these vehicles may cause the non-renewable source of energies to exhaust someday. For example, petrol is a non-renewable source of energy and in many parts of the earth is finished. Scientists research for additional ways of using renewable energy sources to cope up from these issues. For instance, they now electric cars have been introduced to reduce the pollution level. To conclude, I would say that it is the requirement of better health, clean environment and saving natural resources for coming generations that we should stop our dependency on cars.