Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful in a specific field. What are the reasons for this? Is it negative or positive?

Success has changed meaning in the minds of some of the parents. Nowadays, some parents pressurize their children to be successful in specific fields due to various reasons and which is a total negative approach. On one hand, reasons for the same are due to the increasing competition in every sphere of life. For example, admissions in schools and colleges, parents had to pressurize their children to achieve and stay ahead of others. Further, it would help children to secure good jobs in the future. On the other hand, pressure leads some children towards inferiority complex when certain goals set by their parents are not achieved. Secondly, some parents pressurize their children to set examples which can in return maintain their status among their social circle and society. For instance, children belonging to the category of high society groups are pressurized to be perfect and versatile. This develops a certain superiority in children towards the lesser performing groups. In conclusion, by pressurising children to achieve and get success in specific fields by some parents would suppress the actual individuality of the child. Moreover, every child cannot be turned to be the jack of all trades.