Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studing for a qualification.

In our society, there are many ways people can learn. Some people believe that university students want to learn outside of their major, and others believe that spending their time and effort studying for a qualification is more worthwhile. I agree with the view that learning about other subjects in addition to their main subjects is important, because it can broaden their field of study. Granted, focusing on studying for a qualification is significant for their future career. After the university graduation, the students should be ready to become a part of the society. Indeed, the realistic preparation for the job to meet the ideal conditions required by the organizations is indispensable for the student. The more they have a deep knowledge of the discipline, the higher they can get a job opportunity. However, the importance of interdisciplinary research is increasing these days, which means that those who are only equipped with one major background could be challenged for their employment. Also, the factor of creativity is being emphasized in this era. Therefore giving all their time and attention to studying a qualification could hinder students from creative and innovative thinking. For instance, Steve Jobs, an American Entrepreneur brought Apple from near bankruptcy to profitability. While other companies placed emphasis on the function of the computers and phones, Jobs had ideas and emphasized the vital role of aesthetics, design and compact size of the phones. He blended strategic business acumen and a design mindset during a time of technological advancement. His creativity led him to climb the ladder of success and to become the epitome of creativity. To summarise, it is essential for university students to experience other subjects outside of their major. The background knowledge of various fields of study will definitely improve their understanding of their major subject. Furthermore, it can be the one direct path to be qualified for the company and the world.