It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages

It is becoming more and more popular for young people to take a year off after completing school, before enrolling into universities. The main advantages are that it makes the teen responsible and allows him to develop new skills. However, the disadvantage is that they might have a discontinuity in their studies. This essay will deal with both advantages and disadvantages. There are many reasons for taking a year off between finishing school and going to university are beneficial. The first and foremost main advantage is that students can learn and develop new skills with ample time. By observing a gap year, teens get prepared for adult life. Gives them a sense of responsibility for their actions and also become independent. For example, an individual working after schooling accepts his role and becomes responsible for his actions. In addition to it, it helps the child enhance and cultivate their talents and showcase them. As a result, teens earn more experience in that particular field, which might be beneficial later on. On the other hand, although there might be several positives to this trend, drawbacks are also present. The disadvantage is discontinuity. By taking a gap year, the individual is not in touch with the fundamentals after high school. Therefore, by joining a year later, individuals find it difficult for them. There will be a time-lapse in graduating a year later to do other things like work, marriage and so on. In conclusion, this essay has discussed both advantages and disadvantages. It is up to the individual to decide which one suits him best by weighing both sides.